The Ethics & Trust in Finance Prize – Formerly Ethics in Finance, Robin Cosgrove Prize – promotes greater awareness among young people throughout the world concerning the benefits of ethics in finance, and encourages high-quality management of banking, insurance and financial services based on trust and integrity.Launched in 2006 and now in its 6th Edition, the global competition for the Prize for Innovative Ideas for Ethics & Trust in Finance is open to young people, aged 35 years or younger, from throughout the world.

The Prize has won recognition from the International Monetary Fund [IMF], which co-hosted the award ceremony for the 5th edition of the global Ethics in Finance Prize. The Ceremony took place at the IMF headquarters in Washington, USA, at a special event on the 21st September 2015. Ms. Christine Lagarde, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund congratulated the Prize laureates. For more information about the Award Ceremony 2015, see

Euroclear and CFA are actively supporting the Prize and promote it to their staff and members and the wider financial services industry. Many other financial organizations across the world are promoting awareness of the Prize to their stakeholders and their younger staff.


logo Ethics & Trust in finance


How to participate

The prize is aimed at young people under 35 years of age.

Candidates are invited to submit written papers that have not been published previously. Papers (maximum of 5,000 words or 30,000 characters, including annexes) may be analytical, or else offer proposals for practical projects. In all cases, they should meet three criteria:

  • intellectual rigour
  • innovative ideas
  • clear conclusions

Papers may be submitted in English or French for the global edition, and Spanish or Portuguese for the Ibero-American edition.

Competition rules and entry forms will only be sent to candidates that let the secretariat know they are interested in competing.

An international jury of prominent experts in finance and ethics will declare one or more prize winners and allocate the sum of USD 20,000 between them.